COUNCIL

ANNUAL MEETING HELD AT THE TOWN HALL, BOOTLE ON TUESDAY 16TH MAY, 2023

PRESENT: The Mayor (Councillor Carragher) in the Chair

The Deputy Chair (Councillor June Burns) Vice

Chair

Councillors Bradshaw, Brough, Danny Burns, Byrom, Carlin, Cluskey, Corcoran, Cummins,

Desmond, Dowd, Doyle, Fairclough, Grace, Hansen, Hardman, Hardy, Harrison, Harvey, Howard, Keith, John Kelly, John Joseph Kelly, Sonya Kelly, Killen,

Lappin, Lloyd-Johnson, Lunn-Bates,

Christine Maher, Ian Maher, McGinnity, McKee,

Moncur, Morris, Murphy, Myers, O'Brien,

Catie Page, Christopher Page, Pugh, Richards, Riley, Robinson, Roscoe, Spencer, Thomas, Anne Thompson, Lynne Thompson, Tweed,

Veidman, Waterfield, Sir Ron Watson and Webster

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Atkinson, Brodie-Browne, D'Albuquerque, Dodd, Evans, Halsall, Hart, Keith, Prendergast Roche, Shaw and Wilson.

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of any disclosable pecuniary interests or personal interests were received.

3. ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR 2023/24

It was moved by Councillor Hansen, seconded by Councillor Spencer and unanimously

RESOLVED:

That June Burns, a Councillor of the Borough, be elected Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by her successor.

Councillor June Burns took the Chair at this point in the meeting.

4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIR FOR 2023/24

It was moved by Councillor lan Maher, seconded by Councillor Fairclough and unanimously

RESOLVED:

That Clare Louise Carragher, a Councillor of the Borough, be elected Deputy Chair of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by her successor.

5. VOTE OF THANKS FOR RETIRING MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor lan Maher, seconded by Councillor Fairclough and unanimously

RESOLVED: That

- (1) the Council do hereby place on record its appreciation of the ability, courtesy and impartiality, shown by Councillor Clare Louise Carragher in her capacity as Mayor of the Borough and Chair of the meetings of the Council, during the Municipal Years 2021/22 and 2022/23, and for her attendance at many civic and public functions, both inside and outside of the Borough;
- (2) the Council also desires to extend its thanks to both Mrs Audrey Stanson and Mr Jason Carragher for their support and encouragement given to the Mayor;
- (3) the Council wishes to record its appreciation of the excellent effort and involvement by Councillor Carragher and both Mrs Audrey Stanson and Mr Jason Carragher, in connection with the Mayor of Sefton's Charity Fund;
- (4) the Council further desires to extend its sincere thanks to Councillor Carragher and both Mrs Stanson and Mr Carragher for the hospitality extended to Royal Visits, Overseas Visitors and Civic Dignitaries hosted by this Borough; and
- (5) a copy of these Resolutions be passed under the Corporate Seal and presented to Councillor Carragher.

Councillor Carragher was then presented with a framed copy of the Vote of Thanks as a token of the Council's appreciation of the manner in which she and both Mrs Stanson and Mr Carragher had undertaken their duties in the Office of Mayor during the past twenty-four months.

Councillor Carragher responded to the Vote of Thanks and expressed her appreciation to her Mayoress, Mrs Stanson, Consort, Mr Carragher, the various organisations she had visited and the members of the public she had met and the Council officers who had supported her during her Term

of Office. Councillor Carragher also referred to some of the highlights of her Term of Office which included meeting the then Princess of Wales and now Queen Camilla and the Princess Royal, the late Queen's Platinum Anniversary Celebrations, reading the Proclamations following the succession of King Charles III, the Freedom of the Borough events and attending the Eurovision Song Contest Final.

6. ADJOURNMENT OF MEETING

It was moved by Councillor Ian Maher, seconded by Councillor Fairclough and

RESOLVED

That the meeting be adjourned and the Council re-convene on Thursday, 18 May 2023 at 6.30 pm at Bootle Town Hall.